IAA SETI Permanent Committee: Meeting Minutes

September 27, 2016 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM Guadalajara Expo (Guadalajara, Mexico), Room Cabañas 2.

Claudio Maccone, Chair

Attendees: Lori Walton, Andrew Siemion, Eric Korpela, Dan Werthimer, Shelley Wright, Jamie Drew, Pete Worden, Claudio Maccone, Emilio Enriques, Nate Tellis, Andrea Melis, Denise Herzing, Albert Jackson, Ulla Bohlmann, Patricia Sterns, Les Tennen.

1. Introductory Remarks: Maccone:

This Meeting is open to all IAC2016 Participants interested in SETI.

Maccone notes the unfortunate passing of Stephane Dumas, from Canada, died at age 46 June 8, 2016.

Lori Walton will give a talk about Stephane Dumas at this conference.

2. Mission of IAA SETI Permanent Committee: (Maccone)

The SETI PC was created over 50 years ago as the international meeting point for SETI Researchers worldwide.

Prior chairs: John Billingham, Jill Tarter, Seth Shostak (2002-2012), Claudio Maccone (current chair).

There are two co-vice chairs and one secretary (these are appointed by the chair).

Paul Shuch recently stepped down from his position of co-vice chair. Claudio Maccone thanks Paul for his great work for 30 years. Leonid Gurvits (JIVE, NL), has been appointed to the position of co-vice chair. Mike Garret (formerly at Astron, now at Manchester) remains the other co-vice chair. Andrew Siemion is secretary. Election of next SETI PC chair will be summer 2017.

3. Pete Worden suggested a plenary lecture on SETI at the IAC next year.

4. Ratan-600 SETI Candidate HD164565 (Claudio Maccone, on behalf of Alexander "Sasha" Panov in Moscow and the Russian Team at RATAN-600)

Worden: We need to make better use of the Rio Scale.

Siemion: We are forming a group to take another look at the Rio scale.

Many: Considerable discussion on how to prevent the press going wild about candidates in the future.

5. FAST 500 meter telescope: Maccone showed film about the construction of FAST.

Werthimer and Maccone reviewed FAST progress and specifications (see powerpoint for details).

Werthimer: We are helping FAST develop a SETI instrument for the 19 beam receiver to conduct a SETI all-sky survey.

- **6. SKA:** Siemion: (see powerpoint for details). Siemion discussed Meerkat (South Africa) and MWA (Australia) precursors, envisioning a commensal SETI program that forms many independently steerable beams simultaneously. Meerkat is very well positioned to conduct revolutionary searches for ET. Meerkat has an excellent RFI environment. There's an SKA science working group called the "Cradle of Life" that includes SETI.
- **7. SETI Permanent Committee History**: Lori Walton: (please see powerpoint presentation for details). IAC started 1950 in Paris. IAF founded in 1952. The SETI permanent committee has been around for 42 years. SETI permanent committee tasks include radio frequency protection, inciting interest in UN, as well as organizing scientific sessions on all aspects of SETI.
- **8.** Les Tennen: (see powepoint presentation for details).

Liber Amicorum in Honor of Ernst Fasan

a new book about Ernst Fasan, by Les Tennen and Patricia Sterns

9. Moon Far Side Protection: (Maccone). (see Maccone ppt presentation for details).

Proposed a new radio quiet zone, 1820 km diameter;

Daedulus Crater could be used as radio telescope (79 km diameter).

10. SETI PC Communication: Denise Herzing offered to set up a Google hangout for the SETI PC.

Siemion: Berkeley will be able to maintain the IAA SETI web site. (Berkeley SETI's Matt Lebofsky has offered to work on this). The IAA website will host meeting minutes and the official member list, as well as official SETI PC documents. Presentations and other information will be hosted by UC Berkeley.

11. Upcoming Meetings: (Maccone)

2017 IAC in Adelaide, Australia, September 25-29, 2017 (two SETI sessions)
2018 IAC in Bremen, Germany, October 1-5, 2018 (number of SETI sessions is TBD).
Prospects for COSPAR 2018, July 14-22, in Pasadena.

- **12. New Members:** Claudio Maccone nominates Elizabeth Piotelat. Andrew Siemion nominates Nate Tellis, Matt Lebofsky, Jamie Drew, and Emilio Enriques. All were unanimously approved.
- 13. Minutes from last meeting: unanimously approved.